Displaying My Images on a Blog

One aspect of my brief I had been given and I was quite interested in addressing was that the images had to appear on a blog. This interested me because I felt there was room for creativity in the brief requirement, especially in regards to my theme. I wasn’t sure whether I was perhaps reading too much into the fact I had been asked to display the images on a blog but I decided I would respond to this part of the brief in a creative manner. As my theme (ephemerality of the image) dealt with the image changing, the manner in which it appeared was quite important. A blog is one way virtual images are displayed amongst others in social media. Social media is the predominant way images are viewed nowadays and so relevant to my theme as it is also constantly changing. I felt there was some way to display my imaged creatively on the blog although I could not pinpoint which way until after I had taken most of the 8 images for the assignment.

I imagined initially the images appearing on a kind of 4×2 grid with each image clickable on the grid. I soon realised this wasn’t possible (at least with my version of WordPress). However, I thought up workarounds and in the meantime performed a quick search on the internet regarding creative ways to display images on a blog. Although I didn’t come across any answers which directly responded to my question, I sort of came across one web page article linking another which was a different yet better outcome than I had been hoping for. The website linking the other was by Martha Palk. (Palk et al., 2016) had helpfully listed 10 Creative Ways to Display Your Photos and the one that caught my attention was the ‘Instagram style’ option. (Palk et al., 2016) also credited and linked the source so I went onto the article I was interested in.

The website I was linked to was littleinspiration.com and I found to my delight it listed materials needed and instructions on how to make a way of displaying your Instagram photos. The reason it caught my attention was that when I saw the first two pictures of the Instagram ‘empty frame’ containing the Instagram photos, my mind started whirling with possibilities for displaying the 8 photos I’d taken for the assignment. I could feasibly make a grid of 4×2 for the 8 photos for inside a frame as detailed on http://littleinspiration.com/2013/04/instagram-project-how-to-display-your-instagram-pictures.html (accessed 27th April 2017). Although this wouldn’t be displayed on a blog directly I could then photograph the frame and its contents and display this on my blog. The idea was to highlight one of the 8 photographs displayed inside the frame using Photoshop by darkening the rest of them. The photo highlighted I would then link to the full resolution equivalent of that photo. After that I would repeat the process with the 7 remaining images in the frame until all 8 photos linked back to their respective equivalents. These would all be presented in a list on a blog post. Finally I would put up the frame photograph with the grid in it without alteration.

References:

Palk, M., Tailor, S., Tailor, S. and Copleston, S. (2016). 10 Creative Ways to Display Your Photos | The House Shop Blog. [online] Thehouseshop.com. Available at: https://www.thehouseshop.com/property-blog/10-creative-ways-to-display-your-photos/6662/ [Accessed 28 Apr. 2017].

Little Inspiration. (2013). Instagram Project: How To Display Your Instagram Pictures. [online] Available at: http://littleinspiration.com/2013/04/instagram-project-how-to-display-your-instagram-pictures.html [Accessed 28 Apr. 2017].

Leave a Reply

